Apportionment Commission 2021

The Roscommon County Apportionment Commission held a Public Meeting on Wednesday, October 20, 2021 at 3:00 p.m. in the Roscommon County Municipal Building, Commissioners Meeting Room, 500 Lake Street, Roscommon, MI 48653.  The purpose of the meeting was to adopt the 2021 apportionment plan for the Roscommon County commissioner districts.  The Commission adopted the plan to be filed at the County Clerk's Office and then submitted to the State of Michigan for final approval.  The Apportionment Commisison will meet again after the next U.S. Census.

Commission Members:  County Clerk Michelle Stevenson, County Prosecutor Mary Beebe, County Treasurer Rebecca Ragan, County Democratic Party Representative Leroy Johnston, and County Republican Party Representative Gerald Wall

Meeting videos

Sept. 22, 2021

Governing Statute:


  1. All districts shall be as nearly of equal population as practicable
  2. All districts shall be contiguous
  3. All districts shall be as compact and as nearly square shape as is practicable
  4. No township or part thereof shall be combined with any city or part therof unless such combination is needed to meet the population standard.
  5. Townships, cities and villages shall generally not be divided.
  6. Precinct shall be divided only if necessary to meet population standard.
  7. Residents of state institutions who cannot by law register in the county as electors shall be excluded from an consideration of representation.
  8. Districts shall not be drawn to effect partisan political advantage.